Please Help! Auto to Manual Transmission - Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 37 (permalink) Old 05-31-2009, 07:07 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Please Help! Auto to Manual Transmission

Hi, I'm 16, I've never worked with cars before, I just got a beautifulllllll 1997 D90 for my sixteenth (Willow Green, #152/300, LE, so amazing), and I am looking forward to learning to work with Ivan (that's the name of my car haha)

The only thing I don't loove about Ivan is that he's auto... it's my dream to drive a stick, and I think it would be a great way to start working with Ivan if I converted him myself.

I would really appreciate a list of parts, a general guide on how to go about doing this, and any advice you have! Thanks in advance :]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 37 (permalink) Old 06-01-2009, 04:24 AM
Premium Member

Location: Bloomfield, CT If I died today, I lived there all my life.
As you might expect, there's the long answer, and the short answer.
The long answer is Yes, it can be done. You'll need to source an R380 manual gearbox, with correct transfer case ratio, find and install a clutch pedal box, and fool the ECU. Whether the transmiision crossmember needs to be relocated, I'm not sure. You won't have any difficulty selling off the ZF transmission and all the console bits for an auto, as there are more people wanting to make their manual into an automatic than the other way around.

This doesn't even address how badly you'll hurt the value of the truck, or whether an auto is a better offroader than a manual (which it is).

The short answer is call Copley Motor Cars, and swap your truck in on the best '95 NAS90 you can find, and put a bunch of cash in your pocket for the toys you'll no doubt want to add to your truck
post #3 of 37 (permalink) Old 06-01-2009, 09:10 AM Thread Starter