LR2 Oil Change - How to do it with pics! - Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

LandRoversOnly.com is the premier Land Rover Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-28-2011, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)

Gallery: 0
Arrow LR2 Oil Change - How to do it with pics!

FIRST THINGS FIRST: I'M NOT A MECHANIC AND YOU PROBABLY AREN'T EITHER, SO ANYTHING YOU TRY IS ON YOUR OWN. IF YOU GET STUCK OR GET TO A SECTION YOU CAN'T DO, GET A PROFESSIONAL! READ ALL THESE INSTRUCTIONS BEFORE YOU EVER BEGIN!!

Tools you'll need

1. Mann HU 925/4 Oil Filter (You can get one here)
2. 3/8" socket wrench
3. 1/2" socket - for the undercarriage bolts
4. 17mm socket wrench or 1-way wrench - for the oil pan bolt
5. 3/8" to 1/2" adapter - for the 36mm oil filter cap removal socket
6. 36mm socket - for the oil filter cap (Lowes/Home Depot has this for about $8)
7. A 2.5 gallon oil container
8. A bright shop light so you can see what the heck you're doing!
9. Lots of shop towels/paper towels/OrangeStuff hand cleaner
10. Mechanix gloves, safety glasses/goggles

How to Change the Oil in a Land Rover LR2

1. Because of the undercarriage protector plate on your LR2, you'll need to put your LR2 up on wheel ramps. Be sure to put the parking brake on and put some wheel chocks behind the rear wheels. Have someone guide you up the wheel ramps to tell you when to stop and GO VERY, VERY SLOW. SAFETY FIRST, CITIZEN:

2. Next, pop open the hood and remove the engine cover and the oil fill cap:

3. Then, get down underneath the engine and you will see SIX 1/2" bolts that hold up the undercarriage plate. Remove all 6 bolts and keep them nearby. Also a good idea to have safety glasses on as dirt and dust WILL fall into your eyes under here.

This steel plate weighs about 7lbs so be sure to have 1 hand free to hold the center of the plate so it doesn't fall on you.