Front Console LED Lights - Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-06-2012, 06:17 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Scrubo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Front Console LED Lights

I took apart my front console on my D2 because some of the lights were not coming on. Like Traction Control and some other ones. So taking it more apart, I found out that the guys I bought it off ripped out the little LED lights on the console. Now how do i fix that? I would get a new console but then I have to go through the trouble of sending it off to Land Rover transfer my information onto it. I thought though, could I sauder a little LED light onto the board? And if I can do that, what does the voltage have to be on the LED?
Scrubo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-06-2012, 07:25 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrubo View Post
I took apart my front console on my D2 because some of the lights were not coming on. Like Traction Control and some other ones. So taking it more apart, I found out that the guys I bought it off ripped out the little LED lights on the console. Now how do i fix that? I would get a new console but then I have to go through the trouble of sending it off to Land Rover transfer my information onto it. I thought though, could I sauder a little LED light onto the board? And if I can do that, what does the voltage have to be on the LED?
Sorry to hear. Unfortunately, this world is full of un-ethically, conniving, A-Holes. The reason why those lights are missing is because the seller of your truck was trying to hide the fact that there was something wrong w/ the truck at the time of purchase.

Instead of taking the time and doing the right thing to correct the issues they pull the bulbs out of the cluster to hide the warning lights.

I'm not sure how to correct the missing bulb issue.

How long ago did you purchase the truck of off these A-holes? I'd go back to them and have them correct the problem (or better yet, reimburse you the amount to fix at the dealer) or you're going to inform the authorities of their unfair deceitful business practices.
coors is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-06-2012, 04:14 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Scrubo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Yeah I figured that. It sucks because I have the Three Amigos. And thats what lights they pulled. I tired called them back. They just made up some bull**** story and lied. Nothing I can really do.

When in doubt, hit the gas
Scrubo is online now  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-06-2012, 04:20 PM
Administrator
 
Disco Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 16,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Buy a used cluster install it and have a shop or dealer program it to your BCU which will then show on your new cluster.

Mike

Retired service manager, member of Solihull Society, SCLR, NCLR and the Santa Barbara 4Wheelers clubs.
99 D2, 3" lift, CDL with Detroit,T.T. lockers, 4:11's,H.D. axles, custom ft/rear bumpers with sliders, a 9500 HSI Warn winch and 5 HID's.

To DOWNLOAD the RAVE Manual, follow this link http://www.landroverresource.com/

Rover Radio issues or IPOD Adapters http://home.valornet.com/splacket/index.htm


Need Parts?
paulgrant@mac.com or call 203-770-1699
willtillery@roverguy.com or call 434-251-9331
P.T. Schram 260-804-0458

Lucky8, http://lucky8llc.com/
British Parts of Utah, http://www.bputah.com/
Disco Mike is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 07:01 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Scrubo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Thats what the Land Rover mechanic shop around town said. But they said it would also be very expensive.

When in doubt, hit the gas
Scrubo is online now  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 07:16 AM
Member
 
01discoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Scrubo, sorry to hear about your situation. I would take your disco back to where you got it. Unfortunately they can always say they were unaware of the vehicles missing lights.

I have an instrument cluster I will sell you if your interested. I can get it to you for $45 to your door. Let me know.

Sent from my MB520 using AutoGuide.Com Free App
01discoj is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 07:21 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Scrubo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Thank you for the offer! Tight on money now so I gotta hold off. I can live without 3 lights on. See I bought the Land Rover from 3 "Amigos" in SC, and in return I get the 3 amigos problem. Lol, I get what I paid for.

When in doubt, hit the gas
Scrubo is online now  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 08:45 AM
Administrator
 
Disco Mike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 16,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
No more then $150 for the cluster and $150 to program it.

Mike

Retired service manager, member of Solihull Society, SCLR, NCLR and the Santa Barbara 4Wheelers clubs.
99 D2, 3" lift, CDL with Detroit,T.T. lockers, 4:11's,H.D. axles, custom ft/rear bumpers with sliders, a 9500 HSI Warn winch and 5 HID's.

To DOWNLOAD the RAVE Manual, follow this link http://www.landroverresource.com/

Rover Radio issues or IPOD Adapters http://home.valornet.com/splacket/index.htm


Need Parts?
paulgrant@mac.com or call 203-770-1699
willtillery@roverguy.com or call 434-251-9331
P.T. Schram 260-804-0458

Lucky8, http://lucky8llc.com/
British Parts of Utah, http://www.bputah.com/
Disco Mike is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-07-2012, 09:43 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Scrubo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Garage
Getting a knew one sounds good to me. In the future I will probably will do that. Thanks for the help!

When in doubt, hit the gas
Scrubo is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum > Land Rover Model Forums > Discovery Series II

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome