purge valve replacement? - Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

LandRoversOnly.com is the premier Land Rover Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2010, 01:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Mr. t

Gallery: 0
Default purge valve replacement?

for starters i'm very new to fixing my own discovery II (181k.) i've purchased a shop manual and do consider myself to be very mechanical.
i haul ass every morning on my way to work. in the past month my SES light has showed up twice on the same hill/curve. it eventually would go off after a day or two.
last week it happened again, same curve/hill, but this time it stayed on. then yesterday it flashed a few times like a new code or problem emerged. i haven't noticed any odd changes in performance at high speed or idle. i made the trip to autozone for the codes.

here they are, and i've interpreted them as read in my disc II work shop manual

p1590 abs rough road signal circuit malfunction. possibly due to my fast driving on that aforementioned hill/curve.

p0305 cylinder # 5 misfire. (i did check plug it looked comparable to the others, no gas smell etc..)

p0455 evaporative emission system leak( i looked at the lines on the evaporative emission system, at least the ones i could see. gas cap looked fine.)

p0440 purge valve not sealing ( this may sound stupid, but i took it out and couldn't blow through it from either side.)

p03000 excess emissions detected on more than one cylinder.

what i think is happening: my purge valve is bad (not sealing or stuck open) hence the code (p0440.) this in turn is my large evap emissions leak (p0455) and my excess emissions on more than one cylinder (p0300) and possibly my cylinder misfire (p0305)