Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner

T Stat Modification

12K views 48 replies 10 participants last post by  Doug Myers 
#1 ·
I'm preparing to drive my 03 Discovery down the Baja to Cabo San Lucas, Mx.
I've been looking at the cooling system modifications to help deal with the Temps I May/will run into in the region.
As you know. My options are the inline thermostat modification or the PEL500110 thermostat.
I like the "Keep it simple stupid " modification of the PEL500110 on this one as I am new to Land Rovers.
This however flies in the face of my "highly customize everything" nature.
Any opinions would be greatly appreciated on this.

Thx

Tony

#5 ·
Does the BMW thermostat produce the same type of spikes and fluctuations that the LR Tstat does? Obviously it has to fluctuate some, but can you give an example? The LR180 gives me 194 on the highway but when I get off it will go up 201-203 really quickly. That's a good 10 degree spike in a few seconds

#9 ·
Chubbs I don't know... when I have checked it while driving with real time scan function, the temp stays steady 170; Haven't noticed any spikes or abrupt fluctuations but I have not looked for them so it could be occurring between glances.
When I get back to Louisiana, I'll run the scan tool real time to see if this is occurring.

Doug

#6 ·
#8 ·
I read about this before changing mine. Sounded like the 180 was the best solution.

#15 ·