WHAT'S THE BEST YEAR FOR Discovery? - Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-13-2010, 10:25 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
WHAT'S THE BEST YEAR FOR Discovery?

Hi, I'm a newby and am looking into getting an older LR Discovery. Was wondering what year was the best for fewer breakdowns and good reliability? I will primarily use it for fishing, camping & Mt. biking and an occasional 4 wheeling and towing my Teardrop camp trailer. I live in southern Idaho so off the road is a given. I'm a careful driver, but I don't baby my cars. They are to be driven. I'm pretty mechanically inclined. I've restored several cars over the years and am familiar with getting some grease under my nails, but I don't know a lot about Land Rovers yet, other than I think they are the best 4x4 out there. So if anyone wants to comment on what to look for and maybe more importantly what to lookout for when buying an older Landy, feel free to comment. Any and all comments are welcome.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 02:14 AM
Premium Member

Location: Bloomfield, CT If I died today, I lived there all my life.
Welcome. My preference would be a pre 1996, primarily because I prefer the Lucase 14CUX injection system over GEMS, and having a distributor puts back some control into your hands. Problem with them when they get that old is rot (not just rust) in sills, front door posts and rear wheel arches. However, they can be found cheaper than dirt.
I have a friend who bought a teardrop made by the Amish, and I was SO impressed. I'm still a tent man, but love the efficiency of the teardrop.
post #3 of 21 (permalink) Old 06-14-2010, 04:05 AM
Administrator

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
What are you looking to use a Discovery for, this makes a difference?

Mike