Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner

to buy or not to buy

4K views 15 replies 10 participants last post by  HEY_LT 
#1 ·
Hello all,

New to the forum so Im sorry if there is a better place for this....

I am checking out a 1990 RR County with 204k miles for $2000, it has been meticulously taken care of, paint is in excellent shape (no rust even on tailgate)
maintenance performed when due, no leaks or mechanical problems to speak of. It is also loaded with good stuff, ARB front and back bumper, Air compressor, Hella Lights, winch, CB radio, 2" inch old man emu lift and nice tires for overland. the interior is in really good shape as well, leather looks great.

What do you think about this? (the mileage makes me hesitate a little).
mechanically how are the 1990 RRs? I am new to the Land Rover scene and know of their reputations both good and bad. I want something capable of good multiday offroad ventures.

#2 ·
Welcome to the nut house. You did bring some beer or pills right? :wink

1990 RRC w 204K miles(some offroad) for $2000, well save you money because the engine is done. "no leaks or mechanical problems to speak of" > then it's not a ROVER. On it's face this truck is worth maybe a $1000 and that is being VERY kind.

"meticulously taken care of" > NEVER. It sounds like you might be getting taken in by the "Offroad Extras". I get it , but don't sell yourself. There are more RRC out there with less miles and newer models.

The 1990 is not a bad truck, but I don't care what year, or for what price...get it looked at my a ROVER mechanic! Compression test, Coolant pressure test, etc. If you want post the ad, VIN so we can see this thing. Let me guess craigslist???

I hate to sound like a Downer, but there is NO SUCH THING AS A CHEAP RANGE ROVER!

#3 ·