96 Discovery - Overheating & losing coolant - Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

LandRoversOnly.com is the premier Land Rover Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2009, 01:14 PM   #1 (permalink)

Gallery: 0
Default 96 Discovery - Overheating & losing coolant

Hi All -

Let me start by saying - I am by no means a mechanic but I will very much appreciate all input. I apologize if this is long and I apologize again if my mechanical vocabulary is not what it should be but I think more details is better than a merry-go-round of posts.

I bought a 96 Discovery (currently has 130K miles) and brought it into the Dealer. I asked them to give me a list of everything that was wrong - everything. There was quite a list and I fixed everything on it EXCEPT they said there was an issue with my head gasket and they wanted to charge me $4,500 to fix it and redo the exhaust. I asked how bad that issue was and they told me on the list of things to fix, this was far down and that I should keep an eye on my coolant and my oil - and I have been vigilant for the last 3 months keeping an eye on my oil and my coolant and they've both been fine - I haven't even needed to add any oil.