What is a drag link and what does it do - Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum
» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

LandRoversOnly.com is the premier Land Rover Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-24-2005, 06:47 PM   #1 (permalink)

Gallery: 0
Default What is a drag link and what does it do

Hi, I'm really new to this stuff and had a couple of questions, one is what is a drag link and what does it do? Second do I need to change that if I plan on lifting my truck, oh say about 3 inches? How about the tie rod, do I also need to change that? and What exactly does that do? I know what the rear links are and front radius arms and pan-rod arms are and I know I would need to change those if I want a three inch lift as well as the drive shafts but the two things mentioned before hand are just puzzling me.
ilamU_Kevin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-24-2005, 06:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wheeler

What vehicle are we talking about? Also, what lift kit are you putting on. That will help give better advice. Thanks
SCSL is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-24-2005, 07:07 PM   #3 (permalink)

once you start adding new springs, shocks, bigger tires, etc you'll notice that other components will start to fail. Think about it, if you have a 95 Disco (10 years old) with original stock tie-rods and you install a set of larger (heavier) tires like BFG ATs, they will put some strain on the tie-rods, bushings and other parts....

Like SCSL said, tell us more about the vehicle and what you plan on doing with it.

1999 DI - LR HD Springs
1996 DI - parting out
1995 DI - parting out Scorpion Racing Extreme Kit
1994 RRC LWB - 3" AG lift
1991 RR - parting out (few parts left)
1990 Kawasaki KL650B Tengai - parting out
1989 Kawasaki KLR650
1988 Kawasaki KLR650 - parting out
1979 Puch XK