spair tire, tire pressure monitor - Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-08-2012, 12:28 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
spair tire, tire pressure monitor

hey guys, I recently had to replace one of my tire pressure monitors because I cracked a valve stem. The shop I go to is a good place, they ordered the part directly from my local dealer. They replaced for it for me and worked great. Now my tire pressure monitor is going off for the spair tire. It says to check the pressure on that. Keep in mind I never used this tire before, never even removed it from the trunk. It was down to about 20pounds, so I put 44 in because thats what the tire says. The warning is still on. Any suggestions??
nepatim29 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-08-2012, 04:03 PM
Member
 
WuzzzintME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lake County, IL
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Is the light on solid or flashing?

2002 Disco
WuzzzintME is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-08-2012, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The yellow light is on for only 10 seconds or so then it turns off, the little "i" is on the screen and if you click through it, it says check spare tire pressure. The light doesnt stay on like it would when any other tire is low and it is not saying there is a system fault with the TPM
nepatim29 is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-10-2012, 07:34 PM
Member
 
WuzzzintME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lake County, IL
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
What's the year and model? That doesn't sound like normal TPMS behavior. But I haven't had to trouble shoot problems like that. If you're a Costco member I'd be willing to take a look with my computer. What area are you in?

2002 Disco
WuzzzintME is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-12-2012, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
its a 2008 LR2 HSE. i am in the scranton, pa area, looks like pretty far away from you. I am also a good hour and 45 minutes away from the closest dealer, not that I have the $$ to pay for whatever they will tell me! Am I correct with putting 44lbs in that tire?
nepatim29 is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-12-2012, 07:52 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Also do these monitors need to be relearned into the system or anything like that, or are they just plug and play
nepatim29 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-12-2012, 10:40 PM
Member
 
WuzzzintME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lake County, IL
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I'll look up your proper tire pressure when I work next. Most systems need some sort of relearn procedure. I'm guessing you're reading the you're pressure from the tire. Unless you plan on maxing out the tires weight limit you can disregard that number. Instead open your driver door and look for a sticker or plaque that sites front rear and spare tire pressure along the door edge or frame.

2002 Disco
WuzzzintME is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I appreciate your time in responding to me, is the relearn procedure a basic thing or do I need special equipment. I looked on the side of my door, doesnt mention the extra tire, which is not full sized on my vehicle.
nepatim29 is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-15-2012, 09:29 PM
Member
 
WuzzzintME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lake County, IL
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
For non full sized spare tires they usually have a sticker on the wheel or markings on the rubber that tell you what it should be filled to. Can you take a picture of your spare, most importantly the valve stem on the spare? I'm doubtful you have a sensor there, but I've never had a LR2 at my tire shop. If there is no spare tire sensor them it should be something you can clear from that screen I think.

Most vehicles need a special computer that teaches it the new sensor data. Some can do so automatically, but that's not very common.

2002 Disco
WuzzzintME is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-16-2012, 05:15 PM
Member
 
WuzzzintME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lake County, IL
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
18 in wheels take 32psi and 19a take 35. My book shows auto relearn, so if the spare has a sensor it may not relearn correctly while being over inflated.

2002 Disco
WuzzzintME is offline  
post #11 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-17-2012, 08:59 AM
Land Rover Master Mechanic
 
RVRTECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Finksburg,Md.
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Did your car have a full size spare? Most LR2 had temp spares.
As far as your Tpms sensor goes. You should replace the other remaining sensors. They have been known to get brittle and break.The other ones may do the same thing if you check pressures or add air. Rover has come out with a "new formula" for the sensors and have black threads. the older ones were aluminum and are known to get brittle with age
RVRTECH is offline  
post #12 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-17-2012, 02:47 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I called my closest dealer, which is almost 2 hrs away, in Allentown, PA...They told me that my spare tire doesnt have a sensor because it isn't a full size tire. It is a 17" even though my others are 19". Makes me wonder why the computer would say check spare tire pressure when it isnt linked up to the system? Why would that even be an option? I just dont have the time to go to the dealer to have them look at it.
nepatim29 is offline  
post #13 of 14 (permalink) Old 12-27-2012, 10:19 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Good to know this info to avoid the dealer.





Quote:
Originally Posted by nepatim29 View Post
I called my closest dealer, which is almost 2 hrs away, in Allentown, PA...They told me that my spare tire doesnt have a sensor because it isn't a full size tires. It is a 17" even though my others are 19". Makes me wonder why the computer would say check spare tire pressure when it isnt linked up to the system? Why would that even be an option? I just dont have the time to go to the dealer to have them look at it.I just dont have the time to go to the dealer to have them look at it.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
and
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
video collection
trev0006 is offline  
post #14 of 14 (permalink) Old 10-12-2018, 11:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Bumping a very old thread, but I just experienced this exact same problem. Replaced all 4 rolling tpms sensors with oe units. After getting programmed by my local tire shop, I cam getting a "check spare tire pressure" fault even though pressure is fine. I imagine this is a programming issue, any ideas on resolution? It is a 17" spare (car came with 18" wheels).
Sajohnson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum > Land Rover Model Forums > Freelander / LR2

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low tire pressure warning from the SPARE tire in trunk Deutsch100 Range Rover P38, Mk III and Range Rover Sport 2 12-07-2011 05:38 AM
tire pressure leakystevef Discovery Series I 1 09-27-2009 01:23 PM
Tire pressure slclem Wheels and Tires 2 03-01-2009 02:09 PM
spair tire holder 96owner Accessories 1 07-17-2006 06:48 PM
Wanted: disco 1 spair tire carier 96owner Land Rover Parts and Vehicles Wanted 0 07-17-2006 12:23 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome