Buying Used 2008 Rover HSE w/ 130k miles? - Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 06-30-2019, 10:37 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Buying Used 2008 Rover HSE w/ 130k miles?

Hello, newbie here.

I am considering purchasing an '08 RR HSE this week with 130k miles on it. From doing my fair share of reading on these I know the dangers that this comes with in terms of frequent and expensive repairs.

However, from what I've read I've noticed that the key to ownership of these vehicles is lifelong care and maintenance BEFORE anything goes wrong. Speaking to the current owner it does seem like he's good care of the car so far. According to him, as well as the carfax, he's replaced front air springs, cat converters, EGR valve, front control arms and put on a new windscreen, before any of these issues made the care undrivable. He also has had the oil changed at least twice a year. Without knowing if his word is any good, he does claim there's never been a breakdown or any serious problems despite putting all these miles on.

In terms of my own driving habits, I only plan to put about 5000 miles on the car each year as I won't need to drive it daily and usually short distances at that.

Lastly, I heard that the 08's Jaguar V8 4.4 is a big improvement over older models in terms of reliability . Any truth to that?

Assuming I can afford put aside $1000 a year as a rainy day repair fund, is this something I should go for?

Thanks in advance for any advice,
Henry
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 07-07-2019, 07:51 AM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
I just purchased a 2006 HSE with 210,000 miles on the clock.

The truck was in awesome shape. Interior was almost perfect, body was 7/10 (paint on roof and hood had bad clear coat but no real dents anywhere)