ABS MODULATOR FIX (NO more SVS fault) - Page 3 - Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum
 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #31 of 137 (permalink) Old 03-10-2010, 03:41 PM
Senior Member
 
nasa25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ownedcasey View Post
This looks like a very well thought out and performed fix that I should be able to do. I've had the 3 amigos for a few months so today I'm gonna try to get rid of the lil SOBs. I really appreciate the step by step instructions with detailed pics. Now I've got to check on why my blinkers aren't working for similar instructions and I'm off to try this out. I'll check back in and let everyone know how it go.
are you even sure that the shuttle valve error is what caused the lights to illuminate in the first place?
nasa25 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 137 (permalink) Old 03-10-2010, 05:23 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by nasa25 View Post
are you even sure that the shuttle valve error is what caused the lights to illuminate in the first place?
We'll know for sure tomorrow. I've got the wiring done from option B and though the process of taking the modulator apart is a difficult one because of the resistance from the brake lines I was able to get it done. A few hints that might help anyone attempting this, get a long 6mm hex wrench that will allow you to put the right amount of torque on the outside hex bolts because they are TIGHT. I had to use a socket wrench with a hex attatchment to get them loosened up. It's possible though folks, even for a mech-nub like me. I've got the wiring ready to go similar to the picture only I'm using 18guage wire and running it out in a solid strand to the ground and YG instead of a detatchable trailer harness. I figure if I have to go thru this again snipping and re-wiring is the least of my problems. Tomorrow it goes back in and we'll see if the 3 amigos saddle up and ride out!
ownedcasey is offline  
post #33 of 137 (permalink) Old 03-10-2010, 06:36 PM
Senior Member
 
nasa25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Were you getting the amigos on intermittently or did they just come on and stay on?
nasa25 is offline  
 
post #34 of 137 (permalink) Old 03-11-2010, 12:46 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by nasa25 View Post
Were you getting the amigos on intermittently or did they just come on and stay on?
They came on and stayed on and they're still there :-( Any other suggestions? I guess I'll jsut have to take er into the shop and let them have their way with it unless anyone else might know what of another solution?
ownedcasey is offline  
post #35 of 137 (permalink) Old 03-11-2010, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
nasa25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
if they were never intermittent then a shuttle valve is 99.9% not your problem.....although rebuilding the modulator would ensure its hassle free operation for a long time to come.

Just get an abs amigo for $200 and read and clear the codes. Then don't do anything until they reappear.
nasa25 is offline  
post #36 of 137 (permalink) Old 03-11-2010, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
DiscoDream2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Summit County - CO
Posts: 3,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Yep gotta get the Amigo, ok, it's late and I'm tired so forgive the repeat question. If the issue was fixed, would the codes still need to be cleared (so the lights go away)? That is my thinking anyway..fixing the issue is not enough, I think they still need to be cleared.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
DiscoDream2 is offline  
post #37 of 137 (permalink) Old 03-11-2010, 08:45 PM
Senior Member
 
nasa25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yeah in most cases the codes will need to be cleared even after the issue is resolved.
nasa25 is offline  
post #38 of 137 (permalink) Old 03-13-2010, 01:43 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jycsalas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St. Croix USVI
Posts: 462
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
For the 114 code, (shuttle valve electrical failure) you DO NOT need to clear the codes, they clear themselves. But you need to have a scanner to know that is the issue to begin with.

Other faults require clearing the codes AFTER the repair is made. Otherwise the AMIGOS will remain.

In ownedcasey's situation, he didn't get his codes read and assumed my repair was the answer.

However, I clearly state in the write-up:

Disclaimer:
Use this guide at your own risk!!!!
Before attempting this repair, read the ABS trouble codes stored on the SLABS ECU to verify it is not another issue. A specialized scanner is required to read and clear the code(s). An intermittent fault will clear itself after shutting the engine off and restarting it. It will not however clear the faults from the SLABS ECU memory.

Having codes stored in memory will not cause the three amigos to come on. Only active faults cause them to visit. See Diagnostics for more information about the scanner(s).

~Josh

2003 Discovery S (64k miles)

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Mods: Oil Pressure Gauge, ScanGaugeII, CDL, Electric CDL Actuator, RoverRacks Rear ladder, Limb Risers, ToddCo Front Drive Shaft, DI Wiper Arms, G4 Upper Rear Lamp Guards, No Amigos since 11/09

Coming soon:
Install Greg Davis rear bumper, Replace 4 ball joints, Replace belt tensioners and pulleys.

For the future:
.... wait and see....
jycsalas is offline  
post #39 of 137 (permalink) Old 03-13-2010, 07:58 PM
Member
 
LtlSlvr37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tpdllc View Post
Just did the fix using the hard wiring and it was pretty easy. The three hex screws are the only problem. Other than that it was easy. It takes about an hour as long as you pre-wire the connectors.

Not sure if this fix will fix your problem but I'm in Syracuse if you can't find anyone closer. Might even be able to do it in Binghamton.
Yeah thats a bit of a drive for me. Im in WC PA not WC NY.
LtlSlvr37 is offline  
post #40 of 137 (permalink) Old 03-13-2010, 08:02 PM
Member
 
LtlSlvr37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by nasa25 View Post
Were you getting the amigos on intermittently or did they just come on and stay on?
My down hill and traction control are always lit while my ABS randomly appears. The ABS is typically transient showing up maybe once a week but goes away after the car has been turned off.
LtlSlvr37 is offline  
post #41 of 137 (permalink) Old 03-14-2010, 08:30 AM
Senior Member
 
nasa25's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 891
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LtlSlvr37 View Post
My down hill and traction control are always lit while my ABS randomly appears. The ABS is typically transient showing up maybe once a week but goes away after the car has been turned off.
that's kind of weird. You need to have the codes read to know what the error is for sure.

Trust me, invest in an amigo.
nasa25 is offline  
post #42 of 137 (permalink) Old 04-21-2010, 07:09 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Abs Modulator Fix

i HAVE DONE IT 6000KM AGO, NO MORE AMIGOS BRILLIANT. i WENT ALL THE WAY TO NO3 FIX AND REMOVED PRINTED CIRCUIT BOARD STICK COMPLETELY.
ALL FUNTIONS OPREATING NORMALLY NO PROBLEMS.
Kalahari Sands is offline  
post #43 of 137 (permalink) Old 04-29-2010, 05:27 AM
Senior Member
 
garywinter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Johannesburg South Africa
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hi There

I did the modification some time ago but the 3 lights were still there, I was very disappointed. I took it to a Land Rover Independent specialist and has the faults reset. I did hower not tell the guy that I had done the mod. He was pretty sure that I would need to replace the abs pump. Much to his surprise, gone, no 3 amigos.

I just hope that they stay away now.

Thank you very much for posting this fix?

[/SIGPIC]
99 Discovery 2 XS V8
Terrafirma Coil Springs All Around
Replacement Front Bumber
Dastek Unichip
BFG All-Terrain Tyres
Front Runner Roof Rack
Snorkel


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
garywinter is offline  
post #44 of 137 (permalink) Old 06-03-2010, 05:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by LtlSlvr37 View Post
My down hill and traction control are always lit while my ABS randomly appears. The ABS is typically transient showing up maybe once a week but goes away after the car has been turned off.
Me too - I have the ABS Amigo and my faults are :

114 - shuttle valve electrical failure
OJ's DNA is offline  
post #45 of 137 (permalink) Old 06-04-2010, 03:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Tres Amigos Came to Visit

The Tres Amigos light just came on for the first time since I have owned the 2001 Discovery, 118,000 miles. Mind you, it's been 3 weeks since I bought it from a used car dealer! The brakes are good but they are squeaking. Is that where I should start? The dealer told me over the phone that most likely I had to replace the modulator for $3000. Yikes! What are the most logical steps I should take? I see so much very useful information here. Most importantly...is my son safe in the car when the lights are on?
LR2010 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum > Land Rover Model Forums > Discovery Series II

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
0BD 2 code list Rovin4life Range Rover P38, Mk III and Range Rover Sport 5 01-17-2015 06:46 PM
need new MAF - P1172, P1175 stolenheron Discovery Series II 21 03-23-2009 10:58 AM
Trouble codes - what should I do? BlackSVT Discovery Series II 7 03-13-2009 09:37 AM
[All] Pre 96 OBD1 Fault Codes TerryS Tech & DIY 0 01-26-2007 06:00 AM
obd two codes Rovin4life Discovery Series I 4 12-25-2006 08:16 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome