Brake Bleeding Problem - Land Rover Forums : Land Rover and Range Rover Forum

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-04-2010, 05:22 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Brake Bleeding Problem

I have a Series III 88 dual master brake system. I have run into a problem I hope someone can assist with. When bleeding the brakes I encountered a lot of air in the line in the rear system. I have rebuilt the master, replaced or rebuilt all the wheel cylinders, replaced new all the hard and rubber lines, etc. All the fittings are tight. When I bled the fronts they were fine. When bleeding the rears, especially the drivers rear (farthest from the master) there is a ton of air. I know there is air getting in somewhere but can't figure it out. I thought the bleed screw was letting air in so I removed it and dabbed a touch of grease on it to seal it while bleeding. Still tons of air. Anything I am overlooking? Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-04-2010, 08:06 AM
Premium Member

Location: Bloomfield, CT If I died today, I lived there all my life.
Attach a hose to the LR bleed screw, apply a few pounds of air, and check all your joints for a fluid leak.

Is this a US truck (no proportioning valve) or imported ROW with a proportioning valve?
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-04-2010, 09:45 AM

Quoted: 1 Post(s)
There are only three ways to get air IN to the system other than putting in new pipes that are full of air.
1) Run out of fluid in the M/C and pump it in.
2) Have a big leak at a connection so that the M/C sucks air in on the back stroke easier and faster than the return springs back off the shoes. If this is the case, you will be leaking piles of fluid when stroking the M/C.
3) Have the pipes in the wrong location on the M/C so you are sucking in air through the air bleed when you crack them. You will find the reservoir is over filling if this is the case.