Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner

need help identifying series 2 or 3

2K views 6 replies 2 participants last post by  yup 
#1 ·
ok im new to lr just bought a 98 disco1 about 3-4 weeks ago(glad i sold my 79 cj7 now) now the fun, was cruising in a neghborhood when i caught a series 2 or 3 in a driveway. well bout wrecked me and my buddy turning on the street. need help to idetifiy wich it is and what its worth, its been there awhile and the rear 3rd and pass. axel is pulled. dont know anything else about it(knocked no answer)well im going to go make a offer on it, hope its for sale, but what is a going price for these, in this condition

#2 ·
Depending on the year the main way to tell a Series II from a III is the dash, head lights and grill.

All Series III LR's have plastic grills with integrated Land Rover badge and lights in the wings. A Series III has a plastic instrument panel in front of the steering wheel.

Series II and earlier IIa's have lights on the breakfast (that's the grill/rad support) with the later IIa's having them moved to the wings (USA's fault) but the grills are all metal with a separate badge. A Series II has a metal instrument panel in the centre of the dash.

A partially wrecked one of either is worth practically nothing as vehicle and only has residual 'parts donor' value.......at least here in Alberta. I just picked up a complete, but worn out, Series II 109 with a PTO T'case for $500. I have purchased others for as little as $200 or even free!

Hope this helps.

#4 ·
The body panels are aluminium so rust tends to 'hide' on Series trucks.

Check out the bulkhead (firewall) especially near the vent openings and foot wells as this is made of steel and can rust badly. Also the Chassis is prone to rusting at the rear cross member and front dumb irons (that's where the front spring eye is mounted) front outriggers and pretty much any place in between.