Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Had the following codes pop up with the "Service Engine Soon" light on a 2002 Discovery 2: P0134, P0135, P0155.

Replaced both front O2 sensors on the advice of some of the board members.

Immediately had the codes pop up again. Reset the codes thinking I had to run through a few cycles. After about 30 miles and 3 resets, they keep coming up.

Can somebody recommend a next course of action?

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
2,163 Posts
I'm an auto mechanic. O2 lean codes such as 134 and 135 are commonly caused by air intake leaks or vacuum leaks. First things I would check are vacuum lines and air intake duct connections between the air flow sensor on air filter box and the engine air intake. It is common for people to jump to the conclusion of a bad o2 sensor when in fact it is something like a loos air intake clamp. Vacuum leaks and ir intake leaks can usually be heard as an abnormal sucking sound if they are substantial.
P.m. Me if you need more help.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Wiring

While double-checking the work that the mechanics did, I noticed that the wire that connects the harness and runs into the unknown somewhere (I assume to the ecm) has the outside covering disintegrated a bit from where it was touching the main part of the engine. I'm wondering if the wiring could be bad, but I'm not sure where to find the end of this wire.

I did a quick look in Rave, but it didn't pop out at me. Can anybody suggest where to get some more info on checking the wiring? I'm assuming that's the next step in troubleshooting. It wouldn't make sens however that both front would throw a simultaneous code unless both wires went which is unlikely.

·
Premium Member
16,594 Posts