Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hey all! Just bought my first Rover and I'm new to the forums, but an old hand at British cars, having owned eight!

Question for you. The front axle on my 1989 RR doesn't function properly. Whether in high or low range, the front wheels don't spin. I understand its full time 4x4, so I'm wondering if I have stripped a half shaft or if there is something common to these systems I might not be looking for. I'm a mechanic for a living, so I'm not worried about the work, I'm just looking for some tips rather than rip the whole axle out and just dive in. :) As I said, I'm new to the forums, but I did a quick search and didn't hit anything in the first couple of hundred posts!

Looking forward to being a member here, and many years of service from my Rover.

Dan

Edit: Doesn't work. Not doen't. God I am illiterate.

· Registered
5,761 Posts
What do you mean by the front wheels not spinning?

With the handbrake on and one front wheel jacked off the ground, can you freely spin that wheel by hand. If you can, it means that you have either broken the front diff, one of the axles, or a CV.

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What do you mean by the front wheels not spinning?

With the handbrake on and one front wheel jacked off the ground, can you freely spin that wheel by hand. If you can, it means that you have either broken the front diff, one of the axles, or a CV.
I mean you can put the truck in a turn, gas it, and the rear wheels will break loose, but the front wheels do nothing. Same in mud, or sand.

As it happens, I dropped the front end out last night, and I have a broken axle shaft, but I do appreciate your assist.

· Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·