Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My truck is driving me nuts.

I am not a professional mechanic, but am a pretty good amatuer.

My truck is a 1995 SE 3.9L 5-speed with 103,000 miles. I havedone all of the following in the past 18months;

'new' refurbished Bosch yellowtop injectors
new fuel filter
new wires (Beck Arnely)
new plugs (Bosh platinum II)
new ignition module
new coil (accel)
new distributor (Pertronix)
new temp sensor

Cleaned IAC
Cleaned MAF

Fuel pressure holds at 30psi or greater and does not bleed down after

The truck has always been very hard to start and still is. Now, it will start and run OK when it is cold, but when it warms up it will only run at closed throttle. As soon as I try to open the throttle it bogs out and would stall unless I let go of the throttle. Eventually it gets warmer and will not run at all, but the fuel pressure is still 30psi. It still sparks, but won't run. It is not giving any trouble diagnostic codes.

I am completely stumped.

Can anyone point me in a direction?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Did the compression check already also. 130-150psi all around.

Oil is "whatever is on sale" brand. :)

??

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I put a new MAF sensor in this week-end. No change. It still won't run when warm. Seems like it leans out when I open the throttle.

·
Registered
106 Posts
Have you checked your tps? Also, make sure there are no leaks from the throttle body to the air filter...any holes, cracks, lose fittings will give you that condition. spray a soapy solution around the intake manifold, all the way back to the air cleaner..you've got a crap gasket, crack, or something.
Also, just for good measure, when warmed up and the condition returns, look under at the catalytic converter and make sure it's not glowing. If so, it may be plugged up.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #7