Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've just discovered my 96 Disco doesn't have cats or o2sensors. The car has been very thirsty and running rich...I'm assuming since I've done new plugs leads and all the rest that this must have something to do with it. I have been too affraid to go near the dealer with testbook until I get advice from people who have got similar situation. I'm in Australia, anyone know if this is a big hassle?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Hey mate,
I would get some cats on your disco asap..... I am in Oz as well and down here if you have an unleaded vehicle without cats it can cost you BIG TIME in fines etc... I am not a real genius with sensors as such but i am pretty sure that without o2 sensors your car would be running very rich hence it guzzles so much... But i am no proffesional on the topic......

·
Administrator
16,594 Posts
Where did you buy the truck? If in the states the person you bought it from should be responsible for the replacement of the Cats and O2's.
Mike

·
Registered
720 Posts
dacrts - one more point: the V8 engine in your Disco (assuming you have the 4.0 V8) is notorious for carboning up to the point where the exhaust valve stems jam in their guides. This results in burnt valves which is very expensive. So, the sooner you get the engine running at the exact correct richness the better. There are ways to get some/most of the carbon out of the combustion chamber, but first get those cats and O2 sensors back in place. Cats start at $93 each up here in Canada and the sensors are about $200 each. Are the special little O2 sensor threaded holes still on the exhaust pipes or have they also been removed?

·
Registered
40 Posts
Your '96 in Oz will be a 3.9 and would have come with Cats but they do not run o2 sensors. It will only read the air going into the motor.

·
Registered
40 Posts