Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Faster than the speed of hound...
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I'm sort of confused, but I have a possible answer. The lights beside the headlight (pardon me, I'm new to Land Rover terminology) on my Series III are Amber on top, white on the bottom. However, I've seen photos of other Series III's with them the other way around also. Is this due to England road rules vs. American road rules vs. Australian road rules? It seems as though all of them I've seen from England have them with Amber on the bottom.
And while I'm at it, the guy I bought mine from called it a LWB Panel Van, and that's what it says on the registration, but I haven't heard them called by that name anywhere else. Was there another "official" name for a 109" 2 door (3 actually) hardtop? I've come to the conclusion the 4-door LWB (5 actually) is the "station wagon". I've only seen a few others similar to mine. Is there somewhere that breaks down the percentage/production figures of different body styles?
I've posted some pics in the "show it off" section.
Thanks!
(Alright, go easy with me - remember, I'm new!)

George

·
Registered
222 Posts
Hello,

On UK vehicles, the sidelight (the white one) is on top, and the indicator (amber) is on the bottom. That is the way it has always been because those are the rules. In the US, it seems that the rules require bigger indicators (hence the big out-sized amber lenses I've seen on USA Series IIIs), with the white lights at the bottom. I can't speak for Australia, but basically Land Rover changed the lights around a lot to fit the different markets (that's why the lights moved from the grille panel to the wings in the late 1960s).