Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So… I have been trying to figure out if I can put a 2” body lift on top of my 2.5” rod lift. I read that Sasquatchface did it but that is the one and only person that I’ve found that did it. I’m not sure if he still comes on here. Has anyone else done a body lift or researched it?

Thanks,
Craig

·
very disco
2,883 Posts
I’m sure he’ll pop up again. I have no experience with body lifting directly, as I’ve always done suspension. I can’t think of anything that would prevent, or make less feasible, body lifting a D3 over any other vehicle.

Reactions: Cracker Craig

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I’ve got a 2.5” rod lift now. The narrow stock stance of the LR3s drive me crazy I can’t stand it. I bought some after market wheels that have a 1” offset and now they rub when I turn left. Also I’m running 33” tires. As far as the cons of the body lift goes I’m fully aware.

Body lift cons: #1 it offers no extra ground clearance from the frame. Unless you count being able to fit taller tires wich do give you more ground clearance. Since larger tires give you ground clearance, you kinda have to count it. #2 having to relocate and extend components. The one person that has done it on an LR3 said he didn’t have to extend or move anything.

Body lift pros: #1it in no way changes the suspension. No ball joints or cv joints are put in angles that will damage them over time. #2 No alignment is needed. #3 while the center of gravity is changed, it is not changed as much as a suspension lift. A body lift only raises the weight of the body. A suspension lift raises the weight of the body, the engine, the transmission, the transfer case,the drive shaft, the rear end, etc. #4 While all of the other pros are real, the main reason is to suspension lift a lr3 over 2.5” will get very expensive and probably cause some cv joint issues quickly.