Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Disco Chai
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When trying to connect new battery(12.6/12.8reading)i connect positive first then once iTouch negative wire to Neg battery terminal it will sparked and try to weld to battery terminal not only that she will try to start even with NO key in! If key is in and turned she will start right up however it sounds like the starter keeps running. I'm no mechanic at all I've never even use a multi-meter before a week ago but I've been studying! I tried a amp drop test but as soon as I touched leads to negative terminal it started sparking so I stopped scared it may ruin my $10 multimeter. Moreover I disconnected starter wire from starter solenoid then touched negative battery wire to Neg terminal and She still tryed to start( no key in ignition and no starter wire attached to solenoid)?
I just purchased vehicle a months ago,ignition key is kind of loose and negative battery wire was corroded and loose while I was driving it for a few weeks before this happened(it's clean now). Horn sporadically started going off during Hurricane Matthew but I would just tapped horn and it would stop few days ago to check fuses in the horn fuse was blown not sure if this helps I'm just sharing any information I can think of. However if they lose or touching wires could cause such an issue like this you would think you would see it on battery installation 101 videos but nope! Thanks to Any & Everyone for your Time and Compassion ?! 1?
SE Georgia USA (2000 Land Rover Discovery 2)

·
Registered
1,578 Posts
What was the reason for the battery change?

First off, pull the small wire off of the solenoid, leaving the battery connected. If it still wants to crank, you have a stuck solenoid. If it doesn't you probably have an ignition switch issue.

The horn buttons are known to have problems. if the little tabs broke off, someone may have stuck the button back in without a spring. I've seen it.

·