Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Desert Destroyer
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'v been reading historical threads on this topic, but couldn't quite find my situation. I'll be as light on the words as possible.

Purchased 03' Disco II in October.
1st week, CEL on. Codes for O2 sensors. Replaced all 4.
Found a radiator seam leak & had this replaced at the shop.
Ran good for a few weeks.
Thursday noticed rough idle.
Friday CEL on & flashing intermittently when accelerating. Goes solid after getting up to speed (40-ish MPH). Took to shop. Spark plugs replaced (misfire code and foul looking plugs...wires appear new).
Shop predicted problem might not be fixed due to idle still being rough & suggested the coil packs might be next if the problem returns.
After about 50 miles, CEL back on/flashing intermittently as before.
Checked codes & have Cyl #1 misfire.

I'm not an auto mechanic, but am an aircraft mechanic and aerospace engineer...I have a feeling this isn't an electrical issue...I'm not aware of how long the O2 sensors were in need of replacement, but I'm betting they were original based on the looks of them. I'm guessing that my rover could have been running with faulty O2 sensors = insufficient fuel/air mixture for some time before I bought it. I'm leaning towards either gummed up injector or even catalytic converter clogging as the source causing the misfire. The exhaust smells rich and has a black soot at the end of the tail pipe...no smoke of speak of.

I cleaned the throttle body. MAF sensor was replaced by the dealer I bought it from. I put some injector cleaner in with the gas & drove it around for 10 min. I also found a new product that is intended to remove build up in the catalytic converter that has some pretty rave reviews that I will put in when I get the tank down to around 5 gal. (per directions on the bottle).