Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
454 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We will be towing a 4,500lb trailer and at 98K miles and 12 years we need shocks and springs. If we tow six or seven times per year do I need heavy duty or medium duty? I am looking at the Terra Firma springs and +2 shocks. Would the HD be too much the rest of the year? Are the OME kits worth the extra $$$?

Thank you in advance.

·
Premium Member
7,895 Posts
I would go with the HD TerraFirma's for that but, I'm no expert.

Give Justin at Lucky8 a call, he knows the TerraFirma kit inside and out he will be able to get you taken care of. (716) 898-8153

Out of curiosity are you going to be pulling the horse trailer?

·
Registered
454 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I would go with the HD TerraFirma's for that but, I'm no expert.

Give Justin at Lucky8 a call, he knows the TerraFirma kit inside and out he will be able to get you taken care of. (716) 898-8153

Out of curiosity are you going to be pulling the horse trailer?
Yes, the horse trailer. dual axle, electric brakes and the load distribution system.

·
'03 Disco SE
573 Posts
If you're using it strictly as a tow/fun vehicle that gets limited mileage, then HD all the way.

If it's still frequently used as a street driver, you can get away with the medium kit - the HD kit will add a considerable amount of harshness that can make driving a bit unpleasant. I have the TF medium kit and love it. I've towed a 3000 lb trailer with 5 (fat) dudes in the car and there was still plenty of suspension travel.

Unless you have some serious bumpers or expedition gear, the heavy kit can make for 3"+ of lift, which could mess with your steering geometry.

·
Premium Member
7,895 Posts
Yes, the horse trailer. dual axle, electric brakes and the load distribution system.