Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it best to wait untli the tepm guage reaches it's "level" position before driving. Basically should you let the engine warm up before driving? If one does not, is there any chance of damage as a result of jumping in your truck and driving it with out letting it warm-up?
I am new with my truck and appreciate the knowledge on this forum.

:eek:

·
Registered
720 Posts
I doubt you'll do any damage under 'normal conditions' if you start her up and drive her away immediately. It's all a matter of having a little oil on the cylinder walls/cam lobes/bearing surfaces etc. There are a couple of exceptions of course:
1. If it was -54Celcius last night (I'm a Canuck) you need to warm up first - that is if you can get the bloody thing started in the first place...
2. If she has been sitting for a couple of months or longer so that the film of oil in the cylinders has disappeared completely - then better squirt some oil down the spark plug holes...
One other point, keep your engine as clean inside as you can; change the oil very often - normal wear and tear in starting up will be lessened.

·
Registered
321 Posts
was up north and over night temp was -60ish c with good ol' wind chill... started up after a few secs of a grinding noise, then the fan belt squeeling away. after about 5 minutes tried to take the parking brake out, wouldn't move. tried to put it in gear, wouldn't move... so left it in netureal and went across the street to timmies for some bits and coffee.... ya.. it starts alright... just doesn't move for awhile...