Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
4,576 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to repaint my D1 very soon, as the rust spots around the alpine windows continue to grow and the sun keeps eating away at the hood and roof. Im looking to do the job myself as I have some experience. But I was interested in giving the exterior some sort of finish that will withstand getting beat up through the Florida, rootfilled, swamps. I was thinking about something like a Gelcoat, similar to that of boats. I was also interestedin learning about the finish military vehicles have on their exteriors. Can anyone shed some light on these two finishes? Paint techniques? Blends? Anything really!...

Thanks

·
4,576 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Well, through LandRoverNet.com, I was able to find a site selling NATO Matt Green, Black, and Light Stone (Desert). Tons of useful info on that forum when it comes to Military Landies. I'm still curious though, how many, if any, advantages does this NATO paint have over regualr paint. I might end up doing that anyway, since I love the look, but can it take a bigger beating than regular paint before showing wear and tear?

·
Registered
176 Posts
Turd Turd Turd!

Hey there ole down south buddy, it's Jen sneaking on Lee Ann's name, she said you had questions regarding military paint...and that I know a little something about. :)

For the rust around your alpine windows...grind this mess down, use a good filller to smooth out as needed before painting. Prep the rest of the body as usual.

Now for a heavy duty primer; the military uses an epoxy ordnance primer which is some good stuff! Adheres like a mutha and will protect that metal for a long time to come.