Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I am a highschool student looking to invest in a Land Rover as my first car. The problem is not deciding on what SUV I want, but on how to convince my parents that the Land Rover Discovery II SE 7 (1999) is worth the investment. If you guys could help me by naming a couple of high (ie. good interior, nice ride)and lows points (ie. leaking fluids, maintnance costs) of a Land Rover it would be very appreciated. I really want to be driving a Land Rover, and any help in this worthy cause would be appreciated. I know all of you once had a first car, and I am really looking forward to mine no matter what it is.

Also:
Forgot to add that the LR is $14,447, $2,000 under the Kelley Blue Book Value.

·
Super Moderator
828 Posts
I hope I am not shunned from the LRO family for saying this, but...

A 1999 Disco II is NOT an ideal vehicle for a highschool student.

1) Maintenance is going to kill you unless you have weathly parents or a meth lab.
1a) If you have really wealthy parents, I am sure they would buy you a more expensive/newer vehicle.
2) Gas mileage is horrible, you should save your money to spend on the honeys
3) Insurance is expensive. The D2 has a lot of glass on it, the insurance companies rates reflect this.
4) Did I mention maintenance??? $$$$$$$$$

Should have mentioned, my first vehicle was an 86 Chevy Caprice Classic (40K miles on it), then I bought an 89 Lebaron Turbo, then I bought an 86 Ford Bronco Eddie Bauer, then a 93 Jeep Cherokee Country, then a 97 Audi A4 Quattro, then a 2000 Audi S4 Quattro, then a 99 Audi A6 Avant (gave to wifer) now my 02 Disco 2. This is by far the most expensive vehicle I have had to own.

·
2,986 Posts
I had a $2k Jeep Wagoneer Ltd as my first car.. engine died after a year..

02disco2 is right though, its expensive.. the only really upsides are
A) good offroading
B) luxury vehicle and