Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good day folks. I am a newbie hear, but a seasoned Land Rover owner. I currently have a 1995 Disco I. I have had 3 Range rover classics over the past 5 years, 1994,2-1995's.
I bought this truck with a bad head gasket and here is where I start.
I have always serviced all of my land rovers and have become well versed in the engine bay(as all of us have) I took the heads off and sent them to be machined. There was one head that was .07 out of range, not too bad. All else looked good.
I out it back together and sealed up the intake gasket well as everyone has recomended.

Since the install it had what I thought was a restriction in the water flow. Other mechanics said no, just a lot of air pockets. I tried for half a day to get the air pockets, but no luck.

I replaced the thermostat and had trouble again with the air pockets. It got hot once, not in the red, where the electric fan came on during this process. I shut the engine off and let the fan run. A few moments later I went to start it and it did not want to start. I about fainted as my first thought was hydrolock!
It started on my second attempt, about 20 seconds. It ran fine, but still bubbles coming through the expansion tank. I ran it around the block and all seemed well.
A couple hours later I drove it and about 2 miles down the road a burp of pressure came form the expansion tank. Back to square one I go.
I went through the whole process of burping the system again( elevate the truck, elevated fill funnel on tank, raising the idle) It seemed to be back to normal.
Two miles down the road again it does its trick and the temp shows hot. I pull over and shut down. Its steaming pretty good. I turn the key to see the temp and it shows cool already. I start it and it runs ok. I gimp back home to dive in.