Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My disco II is leaking coolant from the left and right front head confirmed by pressure test. Going to have a head gasket job done by a personal mechanic friend of mine that is very good at what he does.

One thing I am reading as I look up more info about these head gasket jobs is that the problem can return after a few months not because of how the workmanship but the nature of the LR engines themselves.

Here is an article I am reading...
JE Robison Service — the blog: Blown Head Gaskets on Land Rover V8 Engines

Is it just inevitable that even after replacing the head gasket properly the engines themselves just fail internally?? What is everyone experience with these head gaskets?

Just wanted to know current owners take on this issue since I am very new to the Land Rover family. Any insight to the matter is greatly appreciated and experiences.

Thanks

·
Registered
172 Posts
4.6 will need to be resleeved. Both 4.6 and 4.0 need arp head STUD kits. Using elring gaskets, and studs, the gaskets should last for as long as you can run the engine. Using good oil, like full synthetic Lucas and a quart of stabilizer will keep the engine internals good

Mike Russell
Age 18
2003 discovery se
Lover of Rovers

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
MRussell...do you have a link to where you purchase your head gasket? This is all new to me so not sure I am understanding. I can forward that to my mechanic but he wanted me to order all the parts and he is just charging me for labor.

·
Registered
172 Posts

·
disco biscuit
1,061 Posts