Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I am a newbie here. My name is Eric and I am from Connecticut.

I am 16 and will be getting my drivers license soon. This summer my parents are expecting me to get a job so that means I will need a car. My neighbor has a 1996 Land Rover Discovery SE with 140,000 miles on it and she's moving to California. I have always loved Land Rovers so I though I would hop on the opportunity. Its in very good condition on the outside, the interior is good too (no stains, rips, and very little wear on the seats) but there is just sand and leaves and twigs (???) inside. Its in the in a pretty rare color- its blueish-green. Its not the navy blue, or the deep green, or the light green, or teal. Its tasteful, its the original paint but I have only seen one another one in the same color. Strangely it is the SE but it has no sunroofs but it does have working power seats. It also has the 7-Seater package. She wants ~$2750 which seems like quite a steal. It also has tires with only 5,000 miles on them. She has serviced it at the Land Rover dealer for most of its life. For a while she said she had it serviced at another shop but she didn't trust them so she switched back to the dealer.

As for repairs, my mom consulted an independent repair shop which seems quite respectable. They fix "anything from a 1960 to a 2007 Bentley". Its a clean garage and has Wi-Fi for customers. Additionally, my dad when he was in his 20's owned a 1960's Land Rover Series and an MG MGB and he repaired them himself so he does have some background with British cars.

Known Issues: