Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, I have a 04 DII with about 110k km. ran great, then a cylinder 5 misfire code. Plug was dirty/sooty when I pulled it.
What I've done:
New Ngk double platinum plugs - no change.
New Ngk wires, new #5 injector....
Now I have a misfire on 5 and 7! WTF!

I read something about plugged cats causing back pressure issues causing misfires. Noticed 5 and 7 fire right after each other, went out on a limb thinking maybe too much back pressure. Disconnected SAI on that side to let some more exhaust out. - NO CHANGE.

thinking compression check next.

Ideas?

Thanks.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Not the coil. Or highly unlikely. 5 and 7 are on different packs. 5 shares with 8. 7shares with 4. If the coil was the problem on my initial #5 misfire I should have also had a misfire on 8. I'm no pro but did a lot reading.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Update: I did a compression test and found the following:
Cyl1: 190 psi
Cyl3: 175psi
Cyl5: 25psi
Cyl7: 55psi
The right bank was consistently high. I didn't disconnect the fuel injectors so the cylenders were filling with gas. Blowing them out with compressed air brought them down close to spec. I'll check them again when I get the intake off and the injectors unplugged.

Ordered the head gasket kit. Hopefully I don't find anything else when I get the head off. Anyone ever had problems with stuck or burnt valves? I'm hoping to find all mine in good shape.

·
certified idiot
694 Posts
That's a bit of a bugger!
thanks for updating us - post some pics of the damage. I have not heard of many problems with stuck or burnt valves but there is always a first time. As there is no oil in water and you are not losing water I would assume (hate doing it) that the failure is between 5 and 7 rather than the oil or water galleys - make sure you check head and block for erosion.
good luck
cheers
Barri

·