Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Discovery 2 SE7
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Took my D2 up on the highway for the first time yesterday. I noticed two things:
  • It drives remarkably well at highway speeds - far better than I expected, and
  • It runs much hotter than I expected.
I have a 180-degree thermostat in it, and despite this, I saw a peak of 206 degrees on the readout (OBDII Bluetooth adapter + the Torque app on my phone), with average temp somewhere around 201-202.
Ambient outside temperature was 90 degrees, the A/C was on full, and it was a hilly stretch (rolling hills, not mountains or anything that steep or long). 65-75 MPH, 2,000-2,500 RPM, never came out of 4th gear in Drive, not aggressive driving at all.
It only came back to under 200 after a 3/4-mile-long downhill with me staying off the gas. On consistent flat level ground, it runs at 198-200 at these speeds.
Usually driving around at lower speeds on back roads and around town (30-45 MPH) it runs at 188-194 degrees.
I replaced all of the coolant hoses when I replaced the thermostat (except heater hoses), replaced the coolant, and bled the system as per the RAVE, so I highly doubt there are air bubbles in the system or anything like that.
It is also worth noting that my truck is lighter than stock because I removed all of the rear seats. It was just me driving - no passengers or cargo.
Knowing full well that these engines can have many heat-related problems, this concern me a little bit, especially since I want to use the truck to tow and haul things in the future, which would only make everything hotter. Are these kind of temps normal? If not, why are they so high, and how should I go about fixing it?
Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
75 Posts