Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys first post here, awesome community!

Here is my problem, 3 months ago I bought my dream truck (a land rover discovery 2004) with about 112 000 miles on it and runs perfectly fine. Since I bought it, my rover and I started playing a little game, he makes a new noise and I try to fix it, so far I was able to fix a few things but for this one I might need your help. I know there is a lot of info about knocking engine but I have not found any similar to mine. Here are the clues that I have:
-Knocking starts when hot
-Knocking frequency rise and suddenly stops at above 1200 RPMs
-Noise is comming from uder (transmission/ transfer case area)
-Fades and stops when I put the truck in park
-I have a ultra gauge and temps never went above 212F since I’ve had it, it runs at around 204F most of the time.
-Only errors codes I get is from bad O2 sensors (all 4 will get changed in a week)
-Transfer case oil was overfilled by previous owner or transmission oil is leaking in my transfer case (had 4L in it instead of 2,1L) oil was changed 2 days ago and noise is still there
-Transmission fluid looks good and the level is spot on (I did not change it yet)
-All modes work great (4H, 4L, diff lock H and diff lock L)

I have read about the flex plate breaking and making similar noise, for now that’s what I am thinking but I do not feel rough shifthing (maybe comes from my lack of experience with discos). Also a bad bearing between the t-case and tranny would explain the noise and the overfilled t-case but again not certain since the transmission fluid is not low, thanks for any help!

·
Registered
2002 Land Rover Discovery 2
180 Posts
Can you post a video of the noise?

·
Registered
122 Posts
Hope this helps but what fixed a similar sounding knock on my 2003 was lowering the operating temp. I did this by putting in the gray colored 180 degree thermostat.