Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just ordered front and rear ceramic Akebono (sp?) brakes from Amazon as I have been advised here on the forum.

What other brake concerns *may* I have to consider at 137K miles? Worn hoses, rotors?

I've examined my rotors and they *appear* to be in good condition, but I'm an amateur, so are there any technicalities I need to be aware of?

Thanks everyone.

·
Super Moderator
2,194 Posts
As a general rule, rotors should be refinished if not replaced. Warpage, hot spots are difficult to visually detect unless they are severe.
At that mileage sticky calliper pistons, leaks, slider pins seized are a possibility.
What is yor vehicle .... Year..... Model..... What type of use?

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
As a general rule, rotors should be refinished if not replaced. Warpage, hot spots are difficult to visually detect unless they are severe.
At that mileage sticky calliper pistons, leaks, slider pins seized are a possibility.
What is yor vehicle .... Year..... Model..... What type of use?
2001 Discovery II, 137K miles, very light use (no off-roading), used primarily to commute to college just 1.5 miles away, to work on weekends 20 miles away.

·
Super Moderator
2,194 Posts
What concerns do you have with the brakes, squealing, grinding, vibration?....
Theses pads that you have been recommended are good quality.
Some of the guys on this site are SERIOUS off roaders and work their trucks a whole bunch more than you driving to school.
So
Why are you going to replace them

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
What concerns do you have with the brakes, squealing, grinding, vibration?....
Theses pads that you have been recommended are good quality.
Some of the guys on this site are SERIOUS off roaders and work their trucks a whole bunch more than you driving to school.
So
Why are you going to replace them