Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! :)
My name is Tim and I live in central Oklahoma.
Looking for advice from the Land Rover community.
About to buy my first Land Rover, a 1999 Discovery 2. It is in "fair" condition cosmetically, but everything works and it drives like new. It has 121,000 miles on it. I can get it for $2,500 (you can barely get a rusty 1980s pickup truck for that around here ;) ).
I used to have a '95 Jeep Wrangler and I miss having a true off road vehicle as I occasionally need one (I'm a photographer and I go ghost- town hunting on the weekends, so I'm often out in the bush).
I like the comfort and cargo utility of the LR, but I admit I'm a little concerned about potential high repairs and maintenance costs over the Jeeps.
Any and all advice and shared experience from other Land Rover owners, especially daily drivers, would be much appreciated!
Thank you! :)

·
Registered
24 Posts
From one new guy to another welcome! (Just bought mine 3 weeks ago)

The maintenance costs can be high if you are going to a dealer. If you are mechanically inclined you can save money there or make sure you have a trusted mechanic. You will hear lots about front driveshaft failure, leaking issues, coolant leaks, and electrical issues. Most of these are due to previous or current owner neglect.

read through disco mike's maintenance thread at the top of the disco 2 forum. Check out you local places for cost of repair. A lot of shops tend to not want to service these trucks.. you don't need those particular shops anyway.

The way I figure it... A land rover is like that super needy puppy you just picked up.. it will probably do things to let you down.. but in the end it is a rewarding experience (not that I have much, but I enjoy repairing and maintaining own vehicles)

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

·
Registered
1,166 Posts
Hello all! :)
My name is Tim and I live in central Oklahoma.