Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,

After lurking for a while ( I don't actually have a landy yet.....) I have a question.

All landy's are customised to the owners requirements. I appreciate that some insurers understand this.

I have 4 kids

If I get a LWB s3 or defender, can I fit bench seats with belts in the back and load the sprogs in the back legally?

Do I need side windows in the back if it is used as a passenger compartment?

As a teacher, I may occasionally need to ferry pupils around. If I get business use insurance can I do this legally as all school minibusses now must have forward facing seats?

I know I could get a 5 door landy, but I'll need the back as a cargo/occasional sleeping area so I'd rather not have the second row of seats.

I'm in Northern Ireland btw in case that affects the minutae of the law!!

Thanx in advance

·
Registered
317 Posts
martinedwards,
Here in New York each seating position is required to have a seat belt for all post 1966 vehicles IIRC. That being said, I know I wouldn't feel secure having my daughter in a side facing bench. So for me, the letter of the law is really irrelevant. For all of my complaining about modern vehicles, they do a number of things well, namely efficiency and safety. I'd say if you can't put a properly anchored forward facing seat in, then don't put a person in there.

Bogatyr

·
Registered
110 Posts
hi,
I have recently insured my 1963 landrover swb and was asked how many seats it had. I said 7, as eight or more comes under a kind of bus insurance.

Transporting pupils comes under a whole different kettle of fish legal and otherwise!

For the legal stuff check with an insurer
I went through firebond 0870 444 0556

I think the station wagon landys can fit 10 or 12 people in! but you can get forward facing seats in the back, or side facing seats that will both fold out of the way!