Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone!

Recently I upgraded from 1998 Discovery to a 2006 LR3 with the famous and infamous electronic air suspension. Few month later, my new ride gives me an "AIR SUSPENSION FAULT" at the crank or a few minutes after I start driving. The fault always goes away after a soft restart (engine off, system check, engine on).

I am not new to Land Rovers, but I am new to LR3 with all the sensors and air suspension. I spent many hours researching this problem online and it seems like my Landy came up with something new.

Issues:

#1 ) "AIR SUSPENSION FAULT" at start or after a few minutes of driving on a low speed (under 20mph) every 3-4 start. Only once it popped at 45 mph with immediate warning to slow down to 25-30 mph or under.

#2 ) My LR3 would go to an OFF ROAD SUSPESION MODE with no problems. However, when I am trying to go back to NORMAL HEIGHT it would raise my Landy to an EXTENDED SUSPENSION MODE with the suggestion to reset VECHICLE HEIGHT WHEN CLEAR OF OBSTICLES. It seems like the car thinks there are obstacles that restricts her to lower down. Usually, after a few attempts to put it back to a normal (middle) height everything is fine.

#3 ) My LR3 would not go to ACCESS/ CRAWL MODE at all. Immediate "SUSPENSION FAULT. ALL SPECIAL PROGRAMS OFF" message.

Here is the outcome of my trouble shooting:

1) Battery check. Good. Above 12.6 V. Alternator raises voltage as it should.

2) Brake lights checked and replaced.

3) Air suspension relay replaced. Still the same issues.

4) No leaks from air springs. I disabled EAS for 24 hours by pulling the F3 fuse. No leaks.

All 4 lower control arms look worn, but not too bad.

The only physical issue with the suspension that I found was the right rear spring is 0.5 inch lower from the rest at normal or extended height.

Any ideas anyone? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you in advance!