Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So.. I'm a mechanic and I bought this 2005 LR3 4.4 V8 knowing that had an overheating issue... I fixed the leaks, put a new water pump, got the radiator fixed (had a little pin hole, nothing bad) replaced some hoses that looked old and non trusty, put new thermostat with the whole housing, flushed the entire system with a water jet, air lifted the system to make sure there was no air pockets. and still overheated on me. Performed a hydrocarbons test to see if there was a head gasket leaking but came out negative and I did it about 5 different times. I tried a new reservoir cap and that seemed to take care of the issue for about an entire week. I parked the vehicle and I didn't use it for another week until now and it overheated again. Before it was blowing hot air out of the vents on full blast but now nothing. Any ideas?

·
Premium Member
1,625 Posts
You should try another new tank cap if that cured it first time, if it was aftermarket it's not very strange to fail in no time... if no joy with that and you are certain that the system was bled well try to stop the electro/viscous cooling fan with a rolled up newspaper when the radiator is hot... if you can it means that the viscuous side of the fan is gone and you need new unit cos it must be locked solid with hot radiator as to provide serious air flow then.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It's so weird because it almost feels like it overheats when it wants to, it's not all the time but when it does it's at idle or city driving. No leaks deteced so far but I'll try diagnosing the viscous fan.. I guess that's the only thing I haven't tried because well when it starts overheating it kicks in and it's obvious because it really sounds loud, plus that's how I know it's starting to overheat.

·
NavyDude
91 Posts