Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking to get either a 4runner or a Discovery. I know Toyota has a reputation for reliability and is common to see 4Runners with 300k. I am kinda new to the Land Rovers, I would like to see how many miles people are getting on their Disco's and what kinda repairs it took to reach the miles? How expensive are parts as compared to say "Toyota". I hope this makes sense. Thanks in advance for the input, Chad :buttrock:

4,346 Posts
I'm going to be honest, Land Rovers are more expensive to maintain than Toyotas. If you're going to do most of the work yourself, you'll be ok. I have 126k miles on my 96 Discovery and have had no major problems. I do light off-roading compared to most guys on here, but more than a Toyota ower would down here. The truck is outstanding off-road. That's where it belongs :buttrock:

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply, I see you are from Miami, I am working on Marco Island. I am not planning to do any heavy off-roading. I work for a Dredging company and am only home 9 days per month, and all I'll be doing is daily driving, pulling my boat and occasionally my 4 wheeler. The mechanic that I use specalizes in Imports, so labor would not be as much an issue as the cost of parts. What kinda mileage should I expect to get out of say a 1998 Disco? Chad

4,346 Posts
Hey Chad! I get about 14-16mpg city driving..the 4-runner is lighter so im sure it has better mileage. I'm not going to tell you NOT to get a Rover, but if the tasks you mentioned are all you're going to be doing the Runner seems like a good choice.

JC

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·