Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
3 months ago, the drive shaft (i think) blew out and my 02 LRD2 became a paper weight. I was dumping money into every year and got sick of it. Just as...my job added another 80 miles to my daily commute. I bought an Xterra and had the LRD2 towed and stowed in my driveway.

I'm no mechanic, but my wife wants to keep the car (she loves it) and i'll eventually make it a project and try to fix the damage done (time is hard to find).

Anyway, its in an annoying spot in the driveway and i'd like to move it to the corner. The problem, it won't budge, not in neutral, drive whatever. if i start it (surprisingly it still starts) and put in in neutral or drive, it just gives me a clicking sound. i don't expect it to move since i can see the shaft hanging down.

Any mechanics know how i can get this thing to move while its in neutral? Or what's stopping it from moving at all?
Added picture
https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/G2yZ1OTF1TXGPBZaUcBG6HdhtQU_B_2M7D06q94zCdA=w276-h207-p-no

·
And I didn't even submit a proposal...
202 Posts
Begin by removing the broken propeller shaft, it's easy and you'll have to do that anyway. Jack the truck up so the wheels are off the ground. Do they turn at all? Stuck brakes? Stuck hand brake? Can you turn both output shafts on the transfer case? Can you shift the T-case in neutral?

·
'03 Disco SE
573 Posts
The broken driveshaft likely did some damage to the gear train in the transmission or transfer case which is probably causing them to seize up and resist rotation.

Like LB said, pull the drive shafts (I'd do both of them) so that the axles can rotate independently of the TC/trans and try pushing it. If it's still stuck, jack it up, spray the brakes with penetrating spray and try to rotate the wheels by hand. If it's STILL stuck, you likely have differential damage, and it's probably not worth fixing.