Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

I have a growing interest in Series Land Rovers. I have never owned one before, but have been heavily researching as I feel it would be a very suiting truck for my needs.

I am an ecologists, specializing in North American Mountain ecosystems. A lot of my work is field work, often quite far from where I live, and incredibly remote. Requiring a vehicle with superb durability and off road performance, while also being able to handle extensive highway driving. Ever since I was young I have worked on and owned American trucks, primarily Ford's and Chevy's. I have extensive knowledge and experience working on these vehicles. After trying my luck with numerous American trucks, looking for something to suit my needs, nothing has been able to fully satisfy all the requirements of a vehicle that I'm looking for. Most recently I have been driving a Ford Bronco II, and off road performance is superb, but the truck is just too small, the amount of gear I'm traveling with fills up the Bronco, and I definitely cannot camp in it. After research, I'm feeling that a 109" Land Rover may fit the bill perfectly.

Being that I have a background with American auto, I very much like being able to work on the trucks when need be in remote places. For example, on one trip I made an impromptu transmission lift using a floor jack and dropped my transmission on the side of Hwy 2 in the Yukon to replace a bad clutch on a Ford f100. I like that parts are inexpensive and abundant, for the most part, when dealing with American mechanics.