Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
363 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When is it a good time to cheak your oil? I say do it after the engine is cold and all the oil has drained back in to the oil pan. Then you will get a truly accurate measurment of how much oil you have in your engine. I have a co-worker who is an ASE mechanic. And he said it does not mater if you cheak the oil when it is hot or not and if the engine is running or not.
I told him with thinking like his he will never be a good mechanic. Who is wright? As for my self I am an aircraft mechanic and my years of knowlege tells me this is a no brainer, but he wants to see what the post here have to say!

·
Premium Member
2,367 Posts
I would say warm/cold it doesnt really matter. As long as you wait enough so it settles. As long as it has settled for a little bit you are probably getting a good reading; you still wipe it off and stick it in then out to test.

·
Registered
361 Posts
When it is warm.

It is a moot point anyway, for an automobile engine. The amount of fluid expansion you would get when it is warm is about equal to what would still be laying around in the engine and not dripped down to the crank case yet. Hot or cold, the difference on the dip stick would be negligable.

What is really important is that, after you change the oil and filter, that you run it for a moment, check that there are no leaks around the filter or drain plug. Shut it down, then check to see you have enough oil in the crank case. Fill with more if needed. Do not over fill!

IMHO

·
Series Moderator
536 Posts
pile o crap

Greg S said:
When it is warm.

It is a moot point anyway, for an automobile engine. The amount of fluid expansion you would get when it is warm is about equal to what would still be laying around in the engine and not dripped down to the crank case yet. Hot or cold, the difference on the dip stick would be negligable.