Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. :wave: I'm new to LR as an adult, although I remember my parents driving LRII in the 70's back home in South America. I'm looking to buy a 96' Disco (will be used sometimes for towing a boat and some 'light' off roading), but mostly for everyday driving. What are the main issues I need to be on the look-out for when buying. I've found a bunch of them here in Ill. for around $6K, about 80Kmiles. I find these forums to be excellent help and I'm actually learning to do research BEFORE I buy, which is a new concept for me. Help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you all in advance...

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Rover X, that goes without saying. I was hoping for insight from personal experience and years of dealing with these beasts...:)))
Your opinions mean a lot to me because of the time and effort that has gone into building them

·
Registered
261 Posts
apparently, the 96's with 3.9 liter engines are much more reliable than the 4 liters. check out my 96 4.0 liter thread... just dont try to buy the one im tryin to buy ;) . theres something about the valves collecting carbon, but if the one you buy has already had the problem fixed, it won't need it again. if possible and convenient, i would just avoid the 4 liter situation altogether. you only gain something like 3 horse power and 2 lb ft of torque, and could end up payin for the valve job. not sure about how it compares to the valve fix, but a borla exhaust would give you a lil more hp and be a whole lot satisfying...it sounds great on a disco, and would be a cool mod instead of an expensive fix. which begs the question, why are there two engine options when they are so similar? hardly seems cost effective to me.

·
Registered
261 Posts