Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know that oil leaks are quite common on D1's, but how much is too much. I notice maybe baseball sized leaks every morning. Sometimes a little less, sometimes a little more. This just doesn't seem like an ok amount of leakage to me. Also, when shifting gears there is a substantial jolt. Most noticeable from P to R, or D to R. Not so much the other gears.

Also, everything except for the grill guard is stock on my D1. What sort of things should I look to add if I wanted to start off-roading? I'm new to all of this, and any help would be awesome.

· Registered
1,506 Posts
AndrewBone said:
I know that oil leaks are quite common on D1's, but how much is too much. I notice maybe baseball sized leaks every morning. Sometimes a little less, sometimes a little more. This just doesn't seem like an ok amount of leakage to me. Also, when shifting gears there is a substantial jolt. Most noticeable from P to R, or D to R. Not so much the other gears.

Also, everything except for the grill guard is stock on my D1. What sort of things should I look to add if I wanted to start off-roading? I'm new to all of this, and any help would be awesome.
Not all LRs leak. My 1988 RR did not leak and my 95 Disco has a small leak which I will fix this weekend (bad tranny cooler hose).

If you are having problems shifting then I would suspect your tranny fluid might be low. When you say JOLTING do you mean a CLUNK? Clunks are commond on LRs. Could also be bad u-joints on the driveshaft.

Grill guard=brush bar or bull bar. In stock form LRs are awesome, better than some heavily modified Jeeps. Do you have fog lights on your air dam? Do you have side steps? Mud flaps? Rear step? You might want to consider removing these items since you will damage them off-road. Better remove them now if they are in good condition and sell them.

You might want to consider relocating your steering damper.