Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
94 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'll be replacing the shocks and springs on my 97 Disco with OME stuff. Does anyone have any Tactics tips or techniques that may help me along? Also I pulled some stuff on the net that says this is a pretty easy modification. Is this true.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
187 Posts
Welcome to this site first of all. Tips for removing are to spray all of the bolts down with wd-40 or similar the night before. I did that a couple of nights before I took mine apart and everything came off pretty easy.

Spring compressors might help to get the old out and new in but aren't necessary altogether. When I did mine, I replaced all the links and radius arms so I just unbolted everything, alowing the axle to drop enough to fit the new springs.

Not a difficult job by any means. I just took a little longer, as I've never worked on a rover before and I always find myself spending time cleaning the undercarraige while i'm in there.

·
Premium Member
10,236 Posts
It is easy...... I'd get a can of PBblaster to help remove the bolts.... Grab a few :beer: and go have fun for an hour or two.... :wave:

·
Premium Member
1,159 Posts
the job is relatively easy and straight forward. its not the most comfortable thing to do if its your first time, but its a great way to make a conneciton with your rover. the only thing that gave me trouble was the front shocks. the front shocks are difficult to remove because they rotate when you try to losen the bolts. i remedied this problem with a channel lock on the shock body while loosening the lower shock bolt.

·
Premium Member
16,594 Posts
Fairly easy, and you will curse and skin up a couple of knuckles before you are done, but it will be well worth it.
Mike J.

·
Forward!
2,324 Posts