Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't want to wait until the 130s are legally importable into the U.S. and I don't want to buy someone else's "re-badged" 130 as a Series vehicle and have my insurance dropped if I ever am unlucky enough to be in an accident. What's a fellow to do, buy a 109, legally import it and convert it into a 130 double cab! :clap:

However, I'm hoping someone else has some advice for me since I am completely new to this auto-Frankenstein approach. Anyone with advice, say as to, how much to buy a 130 body, how much I would have to stretch the frame, would a RR frame be easier or better to stretch? Of course, any advice would be helpful!

· Registered
5 Posts
buy a 130 chassis and build a double cab body on it. As we all know land rovers, especially defenders are a big meccano set on wheels. They unbolt and bolt together like a jigsaw puzzle so there is nothing you cant do!!!! :drink1:

· Series Moderator
506 Posts
The chassis would have to be extended by 18 inches the 130 wheel base is actually 127"

· Registered
641 Posts
I remember finding a website once of a 130 that was built somewhere out west (US) using a chassis and body bits imported and a domestic drivetrain(Chevy 350, muncie trans etc) I'll try to find it again and post the link as it sounds exactly like what you are after.

· Series Moderator
506 Posts
130fan said:
I don't want to wait until the 130s are legally importable into the U.S. and I don't want to buy someone else's "re-badged" 130 as a Series vehicle and have my insurance dropped if I ever am unlucky enough to be in an accident. What's a fellow to do, buy a 109, legally import it and convert it into a 130 double cab! :clap: