Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, I'm new here, I'm not a mechanic by any means, and hopefully this hasn't been answered a thousand times already (if so I wasn't able to find it).
It started as the dreadful ticking sound on the drivers side head with engine cold or warm. The speed of the tick varied depending on the rpm (it also varied in sound level at random). I used an engine flush additive then changed the oil (10w-40 Valvoline synthetic blend) and used an oil additive that's supposed to free up lifters and etc. The sound never went away. Anywho before I knew it I was driving down the highway and I lost power. No bang sound just loss of power, but it still was running, just very rough! Towed it home took it apart and found the camshaft to be broken into 3 sections. First break after front two cylinders and second break before the rear two cylinders. I have no idea how I'll be able to fully remove all of the camshaft?!

Any tips on anything would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks a million!
Mike

·
Premium Member
102 Posts
Unless you want to extract the block, you'll have to remove the grille, oil cooler, and radiator then pull it out the front.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Alright, thanks. I've got the grill off and the radiator out. Not the oil cooler though. The camshaft is broken into pretty small chunks and looks like there "should" be clearance between the block and oil cooler to get it out chunk by chunk (from the looks anyways). But I can defenitly remove it if needed!

·
Premium Member
102 Posts
Also, if you're putting in a new cam, put in new tappets and pushrods as well. And if your timing chain has never been replaced, great time to do that too.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·