Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Banned
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I installed a Richie marine compass in my Jeep - the circular air vent is the perfect size, and it is very simple to buy an extra vent housing and mount it. Yes, it does read 10 degrees off, but there are models that provide for adjusting it. I did not do that in my Disco, what with its square vent.

I'm just a bystander outside of whatever you all have going on between you, but the knee-jerk reaction and lack of imagination is off-putting.

• When my father sent me to sea at 15, I interned night watch with the captain and learned to navigate using the stars, as sextant, and a map
  • I'm an orienteering instructor - that would be a compass and a flat map
  • I'm a wilderness survival instructor - that battery in your device will become a fire starter - and we like to practice things the hard way.
  • When my son, dad, aunt and I caravan into the Nevada desert, where our family has been since the gold rush, we take old photos of points of interest from the late 1800s, random geographic clues - '30 miles south of Mason, NV', flat maps and compasses (and lots of spares for the rovers and jeeps)
Think pre-WWII Royal Geographic Society in N. Africa...

Why should I, or all those Scouts, soldiers, etc, learn how to navigate using the hands of a watch, or tracking the shadow cast by a stick over enough time? According to a number on this forum, we shouldn't. When your technology dies, good luck. And I'm not talking about a cell signal.

Used to be a Rover owner was someone who knew it was the journey, not the destination, that was the purpose of driving one.

I don't know, or care, what the problem is here, but your WLA-derangement syndrome prejudices you against fun, and perfectly valid modifications, and you rob your fellow forum members access to diversity of ideas and perspectives.