Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Discovery 2 SE7
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I currently have my engine torn down to the block to do head gaskets after they blew on me. I figured while I was in there, I should replace as much as I can, so I took the front cover off to do the oil pump, which is a known problem on the 03 D2s. My oil pump is fine (I will be replacing it anyway), but I was having a look at the timing chain and noticed it was quite sloppy and has a lot of play in it. Being that there is no tensioner, I expect some play, but it seems excessive to me. The engine has 118k on it. Normally I would just do it, as the parts are cheap enough, but I’ve never done a timing job before and have none of the specialized equipment to do it. Thanks in advance for the advice.

·
very disco
2,068 Posts
I cannot say with certainty but I think I recall 1/2” in either direction in the middle?

·
Super Moderator
2,269 Posts
Yes that is excessive play.
In your video you can actually see the cam gear move.
That’s a sure indication it too loose

Reactions: V50_M66

·
Registered
2003 Discovery 2 SE7
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Alright. Looks like I will be replacing the chain. Thanks. Should I also replace the gears while I’m at it?

·
Premium Member
2001 Discovery Series II SE7, w/SAI and without SAI
390 Posts
Yeah, replace them too.

·
Registered
2003 Discovery 2 SE7
189 Posts
Discussion Starter #6

·
Registered
65 Posts