Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do you guys recommend replacing the gasket when replacing the spark plug wires on a 2002 Disco II? I was told by the dealer that they don't replace the gasket, but I have read on other sites that it is recommended. This site seems much more informative. Any help would be great, as I am new to the Land Rover scene, had my truck for about 3 weeks. :wave:

· Super Moderator
743 Posts
Welcome to Land Rovers Only!

What gasket are you referring too?

· Super Moderator
743 Posts
huh.. you know, I am not sure. I thought you just had to be double-jointed to reach the coils.

· Registered
1,971 Posts
I changed mine without pulling the plenum. I just moved the hoses on the firewall out of their mounts to gain access. Not a fun project, but it works. If you remove the plenum, then some sensor safe RTV can reseal it and that's what most shops will use. The upper plenum cover is only just an airbox, so it's not anything exotic.

· Registered
92 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Muddy Oval said:
I changed mine without pulling the plenum. I just moved the hoses on the firewall out of their mounts to gain access. Not a fun project, but it works. If you remove the plenum, then some sensor safe RTV can reseal it and that's what most shops will use. The upper plenum cover is only just an airbox, so it's not anything exotic.

so in other words if I remove the wires along the firewall I can reach the spark plug wires easily enough to not remove the plenum? That would be best if I can do that. Because I really don't want to remove the plenum if not necessary.

· Registered
1,971 Posts
that's what we did... still skinned some knuckles too.

· Premium Member
16,548 Posts
2002DiscoII said: