Land Rover and Range Rover Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi folks,

i'm pretty new to discos, i only bought it (a 1995 300tdi ES) about 6 months ago and it's been going great.. but now i have a serious starting problem.. basically it's not starting at all. it first started when i couldnt start it and i had to get a rangie to jump start me. i drove about 12 miles home and when i got home, i tried to start it again and nothing. the lights dim, and the starter clicks like a machine gun. tried jump starting off a 325i bmw, but no joy. the starter turns about twice and then nothing.. the mechanic i had look at it reckons its the starter motor, but i have doubts about this, as the remote locking keyfob doesnt even lock the doors, indicating a flat battery... any ideas on this, or previos experience with this issue?? many thanks in advance..

Gareth

·
Registered
82 Posts
Gareth, I had the same problem with my Disco, turned out it was just corrosion on the battery cables and a bad ground (earth). I whipped them off, cleaned them up, got a jump start and went for a long drive to charge up the battery. End of problem.

Good luck

John

·
Premium Member
16,594 Posts
Starting problem

lastsaturday said:
hi folks,